Formerly Chairman of Neurology and Director of Stroke Program, UT Medical School, Houston, Dr. James Grotta received his education at Dartmouth College and his medical training at the Universities of Virginia and Colorado, and at Massachusetts General Hospital before joining the faculty at UT-Houston in 1979. He also spent two years in the U.S. Public Health Service (Indian Health Service).

Dr. Grotta has devoted his career to translational research in discovering, testing, and applying new therapies for acute stroke. He has been funded by the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and American Stroke Association for laboratory studies on the biology of brain injury and recovery in animal stroke models. He has played a leadership role in many clinical research studies of both thrombolytic drugs and cytoprotective agents after stroke, including the NINDS TPA Stroke Study, and more recently the Specialized Program for Translational Research in Acute Stroke to carry out a series of novel pilot studies aimed at amplifying the existing benefits of intravenous TPA (Tissue Plasminogen Activator).

Dr. Grotta has orchestrated a collaborative network between the UT Stroke Team, Memorial Hermann Hospital, Houston Fire Department-Emergency Medical Services, and other regional stroke centers to increase the delivery of appropriate therapy to a large number of acute stroke patients in Houston. He has extended these efforts to rural areas through regional educational programs and, more recently, telemedicine.

In 2013, Dr Grotta stepped down as Department Chair and moved his practice to Memorial Hermann Hospital to lead the Mobile Stroke Unit Consortium, raising money and coordinating efforts to successfully deploy the nation's first Mobile Stroke Unit to deliver TPA and other stroke therapies wherever the stroke occurs within the first minutes after onset. In 2016, he received a $5M award from Patient Centered Outcomes Research Institute (PCORI) to conduct a multicenter comparative effectiveness study of Mobile Stroke Unit vs Standard Management.

Dr. Grotta has been an editor of the Annals of Neurology, Stroke, Neurology Today and many other peer reviewed journals, and has been a member of several NIH and FDA review panels.

He was a recipient of the Feinberg Award for Excellence in Clinical Stroke (1999), Physician of the Year (2006), and the Eugene Braunwald Academic Mentorship Award (2010), all from the national chapter of the American Heart Association (AHA), and Dean’s and President’s awards for teaching and research excellence at UT Medical School. He has authored or co-authored more than 350 articles in peer-reviewed journals.

Full Title and Affiliation:
James C Grotta, M.D.
Director of Stroke Research, Clinical Institute for Research and Innovation, Memorial Hermann - Texas Medical Center
Director, Mobile Stroke Unit Consortium
Vascular Neurologist, Memorial Hermann Medical Group
Manager, Grotta Stroke Ventures LLC